SLIM failed to execute login command


Please note that this blog has been moved.

Now it has its own domain: mynixworld.info 🙂

If you want to read the latest version of this article (recommended) please click here and I open the page for you.

After installing Xfce4 and SLIM login manager I have noticed that entering user name and password is not sufficient to be able to login because I get the “failed to execute login command” all the time.

I will also have to manually choose between all the available sessions (by Ctrl+F1) and then by entering my user+password my login command runs without error.

What is the cause? Well, in your /etc/slim.conf you might have the login_cmd defined as:

login_cmd exec /bin/bash -login /usr/share/slim/Xsession %session

The only problem is that %session is not defined. It will became defined after you scroll between all available sessions by Ctrl+F1. You can get rid of this problem by adding the following to your /etc/env.d/90xsession file as bellow:

XSESSION=”Xfce4″

After that everything should works as it is supposed to.

About Eugen Mihailescu

Always looking to learn more about *nix world, about the fundamental concepts of arithmetic, algebra and geometry. I am also passionate about programming, database and systems administration.
This entry was posted in linux, X11, xfce and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment